View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 9:04 pm

Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
missing values from csv - can't VOID 
pChart user
pChart user

Post missing values from csv - can't VOID
Hi,

I'm brand new to pchart, and it's taken me a whole week to figure out how to make it work. I'm very pleased with myself for doing that, and thanks to all of you who don't know how much you help people who are just Googling for answers.

I have - after much hard work - created a script on my Linux PC that takes a page from Amazon, strips out a book's sales data, uploads it to my web server where pchart turns a csv file into a graph of sales data over time.

It took me a long time to work out how to get csv import to work. Personally I can't see a single good reason to hard code chart data into the source code, why wouldn't you just always use an external csv file? Much easier to edit values.

So here's my question.

When Amazon's sales rank for a book goes above 100, it no longer displays a value and my csv file ends up with an empty "cell".

I can't therefore see how to break the chart line, because pchart doesn't actually seem to understand a blank value, it needs the value to be "VOID", which means that you have to hard code an empty value with the word "VOID" in order to tell pchart that it's empty. It doesn't seem like a very nice solution.

Why can't pchart just treat an empty value as an empty value?

By having an empty value default to 0, it makes my charts look as if a book has hit the top of the charts when actually it's falling.

Is there any way that I can have pchart treat an empty value in a csv file as EITHER a void, without me having to manually write the word VOID into the csv, OR to treat the empty value as "100" instead of "0"?

I have seen a post on here that was supposed to do this, adding in a piece of code to line 137 of the data class, but it did not work for me.

Thanks in advance,

Peter

Wed Oct 12, 2011 9:02 pm